Self-help books

Paul Gilbert - Overcoming Depression coverI mentioned before that I had ordered a book by Paul Gilbert named “Overcoming Depression”.

Today it has arrived. And I have just read the first few pages and thought…wow…yes…that’s it!

But all I read was, until now, a global summary of the biggest effects on aspects in our lives that are touched by depression. And so far, it was really recognizable.

Seeing I am not really in a reading mood at the moment, I put the book away. But not too far away seeing I do intent on reading it soon.

But I was wondering: if there anyone out there who had read this book? What was your experience? How did you like it? Was it useful to you or not? Could you please share this with me by placing a comment? I would be ever so grateful!

Has any of you read another self-help book? Which one? What were your experiences?

I would really like to know more about the self-help books that are out there. And more, how people have experienced them. I am really interested in reading about my own problems with depression and I have faith that this book will do me some good.
So I am asking you, my dear blog readers, if you have any experiences with self-help books that you are willing to share (anonymously) here. It would mean a lot. I don’t want to ask for help here and there. I want to be strong, be there for me when I need me, instead of always being there for others. I want to better understand of what is going on inside my brain, inside my head, inside that thick skull I have. And I am hoping that by reading this (and maybe other) books, I can get a better grip of the inside of my head. Of the electrical sparks that make the brain do whatever it is that it’s meant to do. Maybe some of these sparks have gone the wrong way, causing me all these feelings, emotional mood swings and all…

Thank you for your comments. I will keep the readers of this blog updated with my experiences with this book as I go through it.

Be strong. And I shouldn’t forget another “Wisdom quote of the day”.

“Knowing others is intelligence;
knowing yourself is true wisdom.
Mastering others is strength;
mastering yourself is true power.”

Unknown

~ by Lonely Wallflower on March 4, 2010.

2 Responses to “Self-help books”

  1. I fully recommend this one:-

    Staying Sane by Dr Raj Persaud

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Staying-Sane-Make-Your-Mind/dp/0553813471/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267874463&sr=8-1

    He’s a big on TV doctor in the UK and his books are good self help books but this one was bought for me last year when I was in the hospital and I found it really helpful!

    I’m also a big fan of the Dummies books and I have this one

    ‘Overcoming Depression’

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Overcoming-Depression-Dummies-Elaine-Foreman/dp/0470694300/ref=sr_1_24?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267874629&sr=1-24

    I have lots of Dummies Books, they are wonderfully easy to read!

  2. Thanks for the tips, I will check them both out for sure =)

    So farm I also think Paul Gilbert’s “Overcoming Depression” is a good read as well. Very informative and good explanations. Me likey 😉

Leave a Reply

 
