Joining TTL…WOW!

When I finally confronted myself and started to be honest with myself as well by admitting I was having a depression once again, I started to Google it. I was looking for a forum to join anonymously, even made myself an e-mail account to use for mail and chat with the same name and well, I use the same name on this blog. I have browsed through different sites until I came to “Take This Life“. No, it has nothing to do with suicide, as some might think when reading the name of the site. It has everything to do with NOT committing suicide because you’re depressed. It’s all about meeting new people who understand you and are there for you. Through this post I want to thank each and everyone of them for embracing me like they did. To others who are experiencing depression(s) as well and are looking for a forum, just go there or first, continue to read this post about my experiences with it.

This is a quote of a post I made on one of the topics today:

“I have joined here last month and so far, it really feels like one big, caring and loving family. People here understand what you are going through, they don’t judge you and they are really there for you to reach out a helping hand, lend a listening ear, give you a shoulder to cry on and to take you in their arms for a big hug whenever you need it. People barely have limbs over when they log out I guess…”

I guess this says a lot over my experiences I have had in the first few weeks of joining this board. I have made around 120 posts so far. At times, I only read other people’s post, not feeling in a mood to comment on them. But when I do feel like it, I gladly share my thoughts and hugs. And I know people also appreciate my input as much as I do theirs.

People there know what it’s like to feel small, like the whole world is against you and like you can’t seem to do anything right. People have been through it as well, maybe they are still going through it at the moment, and because of that, they don’t judge you AND they understand you.

You can say so much with a little amount of words because they simply understand. That makes it easier to communicate about yourself. And you can do it anonymously too. So no one will know it’s you, they only know the screen name you have chosen. And the nice thing about it, they don’t even care if you give them your real name or not. They simply respect you for being there. And of course, for respecting them as well 😉

Hmm, while I am writing about the forum, it kicks me off and I have tried all my web browsers and they all tell me they can’t connect back 😦 Even my GF tried to open the site but she got the same error… To all my friends who were with me in the Monday Cafe, sorry I am not able to hand out anymore Turkish Blend tea. Hmm, well, the site is really helpful and also interesting, when you are able to open the site. This is the first time it gives me loading errors, so I hope it’ll be back soon. You can also first read many posts before becoming a member. Membership is not required to read the posts there. So that is why it’s also easy to log on anonymously. People who just come by and read some posts…never know it was you who wrote it! Many members, including me, really dare to open up, just because of the anonymity.

It would be nice to see some comments on this post from members of the TTL community 🙂
To know what you all think about it. I know I have read many of your comments on the TTL forum as well. But it would also be nice to see some of your/their comments here as well. I know that I can’t expect everyone to comment on my blog posts. But receiving comments do make my heart jump a little and they also bring a smile to my face 😀

Thanks for reading, caring enough to read on and of course many thanks in advance for any comment you may have left here for me. And if because of this post you have checked out TTL and decided to join, I would like to know it too, if you please.

“There is no beautifier of complexion, or form, or behavior,
like the wish to scatter joy and not pain around us.
‘Tis good to give a stranger a meal, or a night’s lodging.
‘Tis better to be hospitable to his good meaning and thought,
and give courage to a companion.
We must be as courteous to a man as we are to a picture,
which we are willing to give the advantage of a good light.”

Ralph Waldo Emerson

~ by Lonely Wallflower on March 15, 2010.

One Response to “Joining TTL…WOW!”

  1. This comment’s primary purpose is to make your heart jump and bring a smile to your face. 🙂
    TTL has been pretty nice. It is nice to recognize people there, like brandy, pete, today, ghost, imogen, and strawberry (small shout-out to my TTL crowd). The support you find there is far from face-less, you notice the community and you get to know people, even if the only name you know for them is Wallflower.

Leave a Reply

 
