I hate headaches and changes

InspireAnd here I am again. I worked out for 45 minutes today, before I prepped dinner and, of course, ate it. The work-out was really hard. My headache was nagging that the room was too bright and my efforts were too big. But I promised myself I would not give in and went ahead and rode for 45 minutes. It was hard, and I pushed myself to level 3 once more (as I did yesterday). If I can “only” work out for 45 minutes, then I need to push myself in another way. I didn’t do too bad in the end. I reached just over 18 kilometers. But I would have felt better if I would be able to reach 25 kilometers at level 3. If only that damn headache would leave me alone, then it becomes a nit easier to work out. The headache is really affecting my mood swings. They are more frequent now, I can get triggered by the slightest change. I could never really handle a lot of big changes. When ever I made a plan, I needed to stick to it as much as I could. I want to know where I am going to, what my goal is and often I have figured out how to achieve that. But when sudden changes appear, my mood can swing from happy to angry and hurtful. The effect my mood swings have recently is hugely devastating. As I mentioned in my previously written post, I was so pissed off and angry, I would have hurt the dog if I hadn’t found the strength to walk away. And this was “just because of an expensive dog’s toy”.

I am still doing online research towards bipolar, depression and other states of mind which can all lead to these manic episodes. This is some information I have found today on the Web MD site:

Mood Swings and Bipolar Disorder

The mood swings of bipolar disorder can be profoundly destructive. Depression can make you isolate yourself from your friends and loved ones. You may find it impossible to get out of bed, let alone keep your job. During manic periods, you be may be reckless and volatile.

Picking up the pieces after mood swings can be hard. The people whom you need most — especially your friends and family — may be angry with you or reluctant to help.

The best way to avoid these mood swings is to get treatment for bipolar disorder. But unfortunately, periods of hypomania, mania, or depression aren’t completely preventable. Even people who always take their medication and are careful with their health can still have mood swings from time to time.

So that’s why it’s important to catch changes in your mood early before they develop into something serious.

Mood Swing Triggers in Bipolar Disorder

At first, mood swings may take you by surprise if you have bipolar disorder. But over time, you might start to see patterns or signs that you’re entering a period of mania or depression. Aside from a shift in your mood, look for changes in your:

  • Sleep patterns
  • Energy level
  • Alcohol or drug use
  • Sex drive
  • Self-esteem
  • Concentration

You may also discover particular “triggers” — situations or events that can provoke a period of mania or depression. Some people find they’re more likely to become depressed or manic during stressful times at work or during holidays. Many people see seasonal patterns to their mood changes. Of course, not everyone can identify triggers. Also, some triggers can’t be anticipated or avoided, like a serious illness or a traumatic event.

One good way to see patterns or triggers in your bipolar disorder is to keep a journal. Make note of big events, stresses, your medication dosage, and the amount of sleep you’re getting. Over time, you might see some patterns emerge.

If you know what your triggers are, you can prepare for times when you might be most vulnerable. Ask for more help from coworkers. Have your family and friends check in more often so you get extra support.

If you see the signs of potential trouble, get help. Don’t wait for the mood swing to pass on its own. With quick intervention, you might be able to stop a very minor mood swing from becoming a serious problem.

The Appeal of Mania in Bipolar Disorder

When people with bipolar disorder are depressed, they almost always know that something is wrong. Nobody likes feeling that way.

But it’s different for people who are hypomanic or manic. Often, they don’t think anything is wrong. Or if they notice a difference in their mood and personality, they think it’s an improvement.

Mania and hypomania can be seductive. You might feel more energized, creative, and interesting. You might be able to get extraordinary amounts of work done. So what’s the problem?

The fact is that manic phases often turn destructive. Some consequences of a manic episode can’t be undone. You can wipe out your savings account. You can have affairs that ruin your marriage. You can lose your job. Most dangerous of all, mania can make you do things that risk your life or the lives of others.

Although hypomania or mania can feel good at the moment, in the long run, you’ll be happier, healthier, more productive, and more successful if you can maintain a stable mood.

I also saw two vid’s on the “Waiting for psych” blog where actor Eric Millegan (well known through one of my favorite series “Bones”) talks openly about being bipolar. Since I loved the honesty in these vid’s, as well as the information he provides, I wanted to share them in this post as well. The sound is a bit soft, so turn up your speakers (don’t forget to turn down after watching!).

I feel tired. I guess it’s only natural of so many nights without decent sleep/rest. And of course I have been trying to work out for at least 45 minutes every day. I will watch some TV now and then I guess I’ll be heading to my “bed” in my attic room. I will take one of those sleeping pills and hope it will help me sleep more than 6 hours without waking up… That does sound delightful…

Ta-ta for now dears! Thanks for checking in, thanks for commenting and thanks for caring!

~ by Lonely Wallflower on April 25, 2010.

5 Responses to “I hate headaches and changes”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by s.severin, Carol Minarcik. Carol Minarcik said: I hate headaches and changes « Lonely Wallflower's Blog http://bit.ly/aWMnVj […]

  2. Great videos. Enjoyed them. Thanks so much for sharing/finding them!

  3. Headaches are so horribly disruptive in one’s mental health. I’m a long-term ‘sufferer’ of either migraines or cluster headaches – they’re not as yet sure which – and I know they can push me into either a depressed or anxious episode (or, the worst, a hideous combination of both). I hope yours clears up soon.

    Good luck with the diagnosis issue too – some people hate diagnoses, but I actually found mine very helpful. In the most logistical of senses, having one enables you to connect with a multitude of people in a similar boat.

    All the best

    Pandora 🙂

  4. I hope you’re okay honey, it’s been over a week since your last post.

    Lalio x

Leave a Reply

 
