The future may be near…

…but at this moment, the past seems even closer.

So much has happened the last years. Some was very good, some was good, most was OK and some moments really, really sucked.
Unfortunately, it’s those moments that are still fresh in our memories. And those moments are the ones we really need to prevent from happening in the future. Because they hurt and cut you and leave the biggest, ugliest scars. And once you’re scarred, it will stay on you. It will stay with you. And at times, it may even haunt you.

image

For this blog, I want to write something different, but with this topic. So I will try to write a fictional blog this time, which will hopefully reflect my trye thoughts and ideas on the topic of time, past, present and future.

She sat down in her old rocking chair. The weather was hot and humid and on the patio she slowly rocked to the beat of the music playing in the background. A small breeze catched her hair every now and then and she welcomed the freshness. She slowly started to slip into a dream, rocking and humming the tune on the radio.

This dream felt so real. She could even smell the air a lovely flowery smell, spring was here. But where was here? It didn’t look at all like any surroundings she knew. There was music in the background but nothing like she had ever heard before. Some people were coming her way. When they were closer she could see their clothes, bags, sunglasses. Nothing like she had ever seen before. It scared her a little bit.
She saw a small town centre ahead and decided to go there. There must have been something that she could connect with. Slowly she became more aware of so many things she couldn’t place. Even the people sounded like they were talking a whole different language, even though some words did sound familiar.
At last, she found a shop where newspapers were sold. She picked one up, surprised at all the colors in it, and checked the date. What?! This was so wrong, it could not be right. The date showed her that she was in the future, almost 60 years ahead of where she was.

There was a loud crackle and she woke up. Startled, she looked around. Everything was like she left it, even though she never really left. It was how real the dream had seemed.

Every night she kept hoping she would get back into that world, back to that dream she once had on the patio. She almost became obsessed with the things she had seen and for a long time people thought she had lost her mind.

Years came and went. She had a family, the old radio became a tape player and the music changed a lot. The papers even started printing in color. All the things she had seen in her dreams slowly became reality.

The sad thing is, she had spend so much time thinking about the dream, thinking about the future…that she missed out on so many lovely things in the present. Her dreams came true, but at what cost?

Some people say you should not dwell in the past. But you can’t just look at the future either. You need a balance, the past should never totally be forgotten, but it also should not compromise things that may happen in the future. Making plans can be awesome, looking forward to it and holding onto it in harder times. But when you make too many plans for a too far away future, it may be hard to enjoy the present. As things happening right here and now, they might be not that awesome as the things you are looking forward to. But they may be worth it all the same, if you only allow them to become improtant by living less in the far away future and more in the present.

Let the past guide you, save you from making stupid mistakes (again) and be a wise teacher. Let the here and now sometimes overwhelm you, stand still to notice the smells, the sun, wind and rain. And your future plans, as awesome as they may be, don’t let them sidetrack you from the path you’re on now, towards that future.

Thanks for your interest. Feel free to leave a comment, but no spam please as I won’lt allow it anyway. Have a nice day!!! ♡ LW

~ by Lonely Wallflower on July 23, 2013.

9 Responses to “The future may be near…”

  1. I really love this blog.. it’s a whole new way of looking to the future, thanks!

  2. Mooi!

  3. Zo is het maar net, wat je vooral wel mag onthouden uit het verleden zijn de mooie momenten, de slechte proberen te verwerken, en daar dank ik met name mijn beste vriend voor, en nog altijd, na 9 jaren vriendschap, kom ik zelfs uit op dit moment op onbewuste herinneringen die ineens aan de oppervlakte komen. Ik mag ze vertellen, hij luistert, oordeelt niet, en dan voel ik gewoon hoe mijn lichaam weer een stukje beter gaat, na een dag als vandaag, ben ik niet te stuiten.

    En ik hoop, dat ook jij jouw weg vind, een prachtig verhaal, maar een vraagje, waarom in het engels?😉

    • Ik heb twee blogs, een Engelse en een Nederlandse. Een tijdje heb ik enkel Engels geschreven, was een tik die ik in een depressie tijd had. Nu blog ik weer voornamelijk in het Nederlands omdat ik niet genoeg kan concentreren voor Engels… Dus er zijn twee blogs van mij, eentje Engels met nu vooral wat oudere blogs, en de Nederlandse waar ik nu voornamelijk op post.

      Ja mooie dingen onthouden is fijn, zeker als je ook over de nare dingen kan en mag praten die dan in je op komen… Goede vrienden, relaties, kunnen daar zeker een steun in zijn!

      Bedankt voor je comment 🌷

      • Waar vind ik je Nederlandse dan lieverd😉 Die zou ik dan ook graag volgen, en ik snap je wel hoor, gezien ik ook een tijd in dubbele taal heb geblogt, of Fb in 2 talen, heb er zeker ook vriendschappen aan overgehouden over de hele wereld nu. Maar ik dacht er inderdaad aan, ‘onze’ concentratie, want jouw engels is ook echt perfect, dat wil ik even gezegd hebben. Ik merk het dus ook, als ik meer vermoeid ben en geraak, dat ik het ook iets meer moeilijk vind om het engels dan te lezen. Waar men zegt, met name de Engelsen en Schotten dat ik perfect engels spreek en schrijf ook, hahaha

      • ajbwib.wordpress.com is de andere, “Als je begrijpt wat ik bedoel”. Als het goed is zou deze aan mijn Gravatar (logo op blog) gekoppeld moeten zitten…

        Dank je wel! Ik lees veel in het Engels (eigenlijk alles want mijn favoriete auteurs schrijven in het Engels en ik wil de originelen lezen), heb altijd Engelse ondertiteling aan staan bij films en series… Maar zeker nogmaals dank voor het compliment 😊🌷

      • Nee, jouw link, brengt mij hier😉

  4. Reblogged this on Als je begrijpt wat ik bedoel… and commented:

    Dit is een Engelstalige blog post die ik op 23-07-2013 heb geschreven. De laatste tijd kreeg ik er wat meer likes en comments op en ik werd toch wel nieuwsgierig naar wat ik ook al weer geschreven had…
    Ik was eigenlijk verbaasd hoe goed ik zelf deze post vond, nu ik het een kleine 20 maanden later weer eens lees. Vandaar dat ik heb besloten het te re-bloggen op de nu actieve, Nederlande blogsite.
    Vroeger schreef ik heel veel Engels, de laatste tijd lukt het me niet goed meer door concentratie problemen. Dan kom ik al niet op Nederlandse woorden voor dingen, laat staan de Engelse. Maar de site blijft bestaan, ik hoop ooit weer eens bi-lingual (tweetalig haha) te kunnen gaan bloggen. Ik ben benieuwd wat jullie van dit oude “juweeltje” vinden.

Leave a Reply

 
