It’s mild… 

Many people call Asperger’s Syndrome, or now ASS, a mild form of autism…

As someone who has lived her entire life being “affected” by ASS, I can tell you one thing for sure. 

Calling it mild is how you get to experience me being different. It’s not how I experience it myself, as it’s a daily struggle to “adapt” to a world, so different from my own. 

I need to read between the lines, because people just don’t say it how it is. I need to control my movements/stimming, because people find it strange/disturbing… They don’t know that I need it in order to soothe myself. So not being able to stim only makes the experience more difficult. I have difficulties with sounds, smells, lights. I need to adapt because others don’t experience it. 

So in order for you to experience my difficulties mildly, I have to work very hard, and sometimes, I can’t cope, I do melt down, I do act “weird”. I can’t wait until people can understand that for me to be able to experience my ASS mildly, the NT people need to adapt to me/us, not the other way around. And the way things are going on in the world right now, I’m afraid it will always be me that needs to put lots of effort in it for you to experience my autism mildly… 

On a side note, happy Valentine’s day everyone! 

~ by Lonely Wallflower on February 14, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
