Giving up

Sometimes, in order to not give up, you have to give it up…

R2-D2 falling over

It might sound strange, but for me, it’s true. I can really dive into things in ways no NT person I know can do… I have had some hobbies that I enjoyed. They gave me pleasure, energy and even some strength. But…

I had to give some of them up. Maybe some temporarily, at least I hope so… And some I’ll never be able to do again.

I could try to hold on to the latter. But that would only remind me of so called better days. And that won’t make me feel happy. Nope, not at all and on bad days, it could even feed my dark monster, that ever following shade, the dark passenger.

I have cried over giving some of those things up. And yeah, when I see others going at it, it can make me feel jealous.

But I have to let it go. It won’t do me any good to keep holding on to things that were. I need to focus on things I still can do and perhaps even expand them with new things.

So for me, in order to proceed with life, for not feeding the monster, I need to give some things up. By giving them up, I can continue going forward.

That’s my own made quote, not sure if it already exists. But it’s what I kept thinking about, for some reason, and had to share with you all.

Sometimes, in order to not give up, you have to give it up.

Never give up, never surrender

~ by Lonely Wallflower on August 6, 2017.

2 Responses to “Giving up”

  1. Hoe moeilijk het ook is, het is helemaal waar.

Leave a Reply

 
